Gluten in Processed Foods

Hidden Gluten in Processed Foods

Gluten-containing grains are often used in the manufacture or processing of foods. Therefore, if you suffer from celiac disease, it’s very important to check food labels carefully, and choose foods with permitted ingredients. Here is a very short list of some popular ingredients, with advice on which types you may eat if you are following a gluten-free diet and wish to avoid “hidden gluten.”

“Flour or Cereal products”
Eat Only: Those made from rice, corn potato or soy

“Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) or Texturized Vegetable Protein”
Eat Only: Those foods made from soy or corn

Eat Only: Cornstarch

“Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch”
Eat Only: Those modified starches made from arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, maize

“Malt or Malt flavorings”
Eat Only: Those products made from corn

“Soy Sauce”
Eat Only: Soy sauces made without wheat

“Vegetable Gum”
Eat Only: Those gums made from carob or locust bean; cellulose or sugar gum; gum acacia, arabic tragacanth or xanthan

“Vegetable Protein”
Eat Only: Protein made from soy or corn

Hidden Gluten in Processed Foods
Easy To Read
Reader Rating0 Votes